Just In: ASUU splits as Congress of University Academics emerges

Some university lecturers have formed a new union know as Congress of University Academics (CONUA).

They broke away from the Academic Staff Union of Universities to form the group.

The group’s National Coordinator, Niyi Ismaheel, said that the new union was  formed the  to redefine unionism and restore peace and stability in universities.

Ismaheel told hordes of reporters at the union’sf First national stakeholder forum at the Obafemi Awolowo University- Ile Ife (OAU).


Ismaheel said “The new union will form a new approach of engagement in addressing the welfare of its members and to put to an end “the unnecessary wasting of student’s academic time as a result of frequent strike action.

“Already we have members in Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma, Federal University, Oye Ekiti, Federal University, Lokoja and Kwara state university.

“The union is putting necessary documentation in place for official recognition by the university management and the government,” he added.

Minister of Labour and Employment, Dr. Chris Ngige, confirmed that the union has applied to be registered by the ministry.

The minister said that he received their application in April this year.

Ngige said’ They have not been registered yet. Their application is in the ministry. They submitted it even before I left. They submitted the application in April. It has not been treated.

“We are still looking at their application. I asked a committee to look at it. When we look at the committee report we will know,”