Fayemi, Oyetola, Yaya Bello, eight other governors yet to implement new minimum wage.

Eleven states in Nigeria are yet to begin implementation of the new Minimum wage.

Only three states and the Federal Capital Territory, FCT, are implementing partially.

This is coming more than a year after the N30,000 new minimum wage took effect in Nigeria.

 President Muhammadu Buhari had signed the N30,000 new National Minimum Wage Act into law, effective April 18, 2019.
This has therefore repealed the Minimum Wage Act of 2011.

The Federal Government started implementing the new wage after negotiating and agreeing on the consequential adjustment with organised labour in October.

The labour had issued a December 31, 2019 deadline to states to end all discussions and agreements for implementation or face nationwide industrial unrest.

Eleven States have commenced implementation are Adamawa,  Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Benue, Ekiti, Kogi, Plateau, Imo, Nasarawa, Osun and Taraba.

Besides FCT, other states that are implementing partially are Bauchi, Oyo, Yobe and Kebbi.

Gboyega Oyetola
Governor, Osun State