Radio Nigeria Journalist, Kayode Animasaun wins NUJ Investigative Award

Kayode Animasaun, a journalist with the Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria, FRCN, has emerged the winner of the prestigious Investigative Reporter of the year Award of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, NUJ, in Ondo state.

The prolific journalist and popular blogger won the award after the NUJ in Ondo state council set up a panel to scrutinize various entries of journalists working in the state in 2021 ,which was part of the annual Press week of the Union in the state.

The award was presented to him at the NUJ Dinner and Award night on Friday, in Akure.

Kayode Animasaun was announced as the winner of the investigative reporter of the year ( broadcast category) with a story he wrote to expose examination malpractices at Ijo Mimo High school, Akure.

The story revealed how parents and management of the school jointly induced external examination invigilators to ensure that students writing WAEC and NECO were given free hand when writing the exams,the practice that had been for many years.

Kayode Animasaun had won similar award in 2013 when his report exposed corrupt practices by top Ondo state government officials who refused to rehabilitate hostels at the State school of Nursing, making the students to go through untold hardship with dilapidated hostels.

After Radio Nigeria aired the report on Network News, a contractor was mobilised within 48 hours to begin rehabilitation work on the hostels.

Kayode Animasaun also won NUJ Grassroot Reporter of the year in 2015 with another landmark report.

Speaking after receiving the award, Kayode Animasaun dedicated the award to RADIO NIGERIA for giving for providing a platform for him to practice as well as  everyone that had been sources of inspiration to him.

He promised to always discharge his duties with utmost professionalism at all times.

Others who won awards at the event included Olufisoye Adenitan also from Radio Nigeria won Grassroot Reporter of the year, Olusola Adesuyan of the AIT won Political Reporter of the year ( electronic category) and Wale Momoh of New Telegraph Newspaper won the print category of the same award.