AAUA Prof. Adebowale Becomes Fellow of Nigerian Academy of Letters

A renowned Professor of Yoruba Literature of Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko, Oluyemisi Adebowale, has been admitted to the College of Fellows of the Nigerian Academy of Letters (NAL).


The Fellowship was conferred on her and five others on Thursday, August 11, 2022 at the 24th Convocation and Investiture of NAL held in the University of Lagos.


The Fellows of the Nigerian Academy of Letters are a group of distinguished scholars of the humanities, nominated and elected in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the humanistic scholarship.


The Secretary of NAL, Prof. Ayobami Kehinde, in an early statement, had noted that the new Fellows were highly accomplished researchers in their respective fields, adding that they were elected following a robust review process which found their research outputs excellent.


Speaking with the Information Unit of Adekunle Ajasin University, Prof. Adebowale, the first female Professor and former Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic) of AAUA, expressed joy over her admission to NAL’s prestigious College of Fellows.


She thanked the Executive Committee of NAL for recognising her modest contributions in her field.


Other Fellows are Prof. Roseline Oro Aziza, Prof. Godini Gabriel Darah, Prof. Alex Chinwuba Asigbo, Prof. Yakubu Aboki Ochefu, and Prof. Olumuyiwa Adebanjo Falaiye while the Overseas Fellow is Prof. Emeritus John I. Bewaji. The Honorary Fellows at the event were Odia Ofeimun and Chief Olusola Akintola Osuntokun.

34 Professors were also inducted as new members of the Nigerian Academy of Letters (NAL) at the event.