LG Chairmen, Councillors Tenure End in Ondo as

The constitutional tenure of the elected Chairmen and Councillors of Local Governments in Ondo State has ended on 30th August 2023.

With this development,  all Chairmen and Councillors are directed to vacate their respective offices accordingly and hand over the administration of the Local Governments.

In order not to allow for vacuum, the Acting Governor of Ondo State, Hon Lucky Orimisan Aiyedatiwa, has directed the Heads of Local Government Administration in the eighteen (18) Local Governments across the State to take charge of the administration of the Local Governments forthwith, pending further directives from the State Government. The outgoing officials are also enjoined to handover properly.


The State Government appreciated the outgoing Chairmen and Councillors for their meritorious services to the people of Ondo State, while also wishing them the best in their future endeavours.


The directive was contained in a statement issued by  Kenneth Odusola-Stevenson Press Secretary to the Governor, Office of the Acting Governor,