Ondo APC group faults appointment of Abegunde, Akinjo into NDDC Board

A Group within the All progressives Congress in ondo state Known as Progressives advocates initiative has condemned the appointment of board members of the Niger Delta Development commission approved by President Bola Tinubu .

In a letter addressed to the President and signed by Chairman of the group Augustine Akinkunmi and the Secretary, Adebayo Adubiaro, the group condemned the appointment of the NDDC Managing Director from Baylesa state instead of Ondo State as well as the nomination of Hon Ifedayo Abegunde ‘Abena’ and Hon Victor Akinjo from the PDP.

The Group request for the intervention of the president in ensuring that Ondo State rightfully assumes the position of Managing Director.

They letter said “First and foremost, we would like to emphasise that it is the turn of Ondo State to produce the Managing Director of the Niger Delta Development Commission. For several years, Bayelsa State has occupied this position, creating an imbalance in the representation of different states within the NDDC. As a state that has made significant contributions to the development of the oil and gas sector, Ondo State deserves its fair share of the leadership of this crucial organisation.

As you are aware, Bayelsa State currently holds the position of Minister of State, Petroleum Resources, while Akwa Ibom State holds the position of Minister of State, Gas Resources, and Edo State holds the position of Minister of Niger Delta Affairs. Given these existing appointments, it is only just and equitable that Ondo State, as the fifth largest producer of crude oil in Nigeria, assume the position of Managing Director of the NDDC. This would ensure a fair distribution of leadership responsibilities among the oil-producing states and promote inclusivity in the decision-making processes of the commission.

The group said they believe that by appointing a Managing Director from Ondo State, the NDDC will benefit from the rich experiences and insights that Ondo State brings to the table.

“Your Excellency, the current Managing Director, was given a two-year tenure by President Muhammadu Buhari to complete the residue of Bayelsa State’s tenure. Chief Samuel Ogboku was appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari to complete what was considered a two-year residue. However, following the dissolution of the former board, where Ondo State was clearly shortchanged, Bayelsa State should not be granted another four-year term. Therefore, it is only fair and just that Ondo State be given the opportunity to produce the managing director.

The Group also raised concern over the nomination of Hon. Ifedayo Abegunde as the Executive Director, Corporate Affairs and Hon Kolade Akinjo as member.

” It has come to our attention that Hon. Abegunde is not from the oil-producing area of Ondo State, which is in direct violation of Section 12(1) of the NDDC Act 2000, as amended. According to this Act, anyone occupying the position of Executive Director must hail from the oil-producing area of the state. In Ondo State, Ilaje Local Government is the only council that falls within the oil-producing LGA category. However, Hon. Abegunde hails from Akure South Local Government, which is not an oil-producing area of Ondo State.

Mr President, one of the major concerns we also wish to highlight is the nomination of Hon. Kolade Akinjo as the representative of Ondo State on the board. It will interest you to know that Hon. Akinjo was the candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in the February 25th House of Representatives election for the Ilaje/Ese-Odo federal constituency. However, he lost to our great party, the APC. We find it demoralising that the first political position coming to the area has been given to a member of the opposition party. This raises questions regarding the reward for loyalty within our party.

Th Group appealed to the president to reconsider these appointments and ensure that deserving and loyal members of the APC are given the opportunity to serve.